Grafton Green Thumbs


Grafton Horticultural Logo"Celebrating over 90 years of history!" Ontario Horticultural Association Logo



Co-President - Edith Kift
Past Co-Presidents - Ralf & Michelle Busse
Secretary - Louise Sirtonski
Treasurer - Barbara Stanners

For more information, contact

Ontario Horticultural Association Website:


Purple Flowers


Grafton Horticultural Society is dedicated to improving the beauty of the Grafton area. Members maintain two gardens in the community - Haldimand Court Apartments and Grafton Heritage Park. In 2008 the Society created the Grafton Heritage Park in the centre of the village which includes native, rock, woodland and scented areas as well as historical information.

Our Horticultural Society was renamed in 2002 to the Grafton Horticultural Society due to the amalgamation of the Alnwick and Haldimand Townships. The original society was organized and named South Haldimand Horticultural Society on April 9, 1925 and then renamed in 1996 to the Haldimand Township Horticultural Society.  We rebranded ourselves to Grafton Green Thumbs in 2018. The first President was William Heenan, a local greenhouse operator, and Mrs. J.C. Hutchison the first Secretary. The first flower show was held on August 29, 1925.


We have a youth program which has been active since 1969. They currently meet at Grafton Public School in the greenhouse and are fortunate to have been given an area on the school grounds for a garden where we have seven raised beds.  Vegetables grown in the garden are donated to Fare Share in Cobourg. 

Our meetings take place the second Tuesday of the month via zoom or at St. Andrew's United Church, 137 Old Danforth Road, Grafton at 7:00 p.m. for refreshments and fellowship with meeting beginning at 7:30 p.m. unless otherwise noted. We have interesting speakers, two flower shows and a plant sale.

Please join us at our monthly meetings and special events.



Picture of nice garden and low stone wall infront of house in the rain


Zoom meetings - email for link day of mtg.

In person meetings,  unless otherwise specified are held at

St. Andrew’s United Church, 137 Old Danforth Rd.

Refreshments:  7:00 p.m.  Meeting begins 7:30 p.m.

The church is wheelchair accessible

Please lug-a-mug


February 8, 2022  -  via zoom

Speaker:  Heinke Thiessen
"Size Small - Fits All"

March 8 - via zoom

Speaker:  Penny Stewart

April 12

Speaker:  Marian Jean

May 10

7:30 p.m. - meeting begins
Speaker:  Suzi Gabany
"Growing Tomatoes"

May 14

9:00 a.m. - noon  -  PLANT SALE
Good selection of plants from members gardens
Location:  St. Andrew's U.C., 137 Old Danforth Rd.

June 14

Speaker:  Christine Gill
"Rock Gardens"

September 13

7:30 p.m. - meeting begins
Speaker:  Joan Harding
"Putting Your Gardens to Bed for Winter"

October 11

Speaker:  Paul Richardson
"Value of Natural Plant Material vs Non-Native Plant Material
Which is Important for Attracting Birds & Pollinators"

November 8

Speaker:  Penni Holdman
"Chrismas Tips & Tricks"

December 13

5:30 p.m. Christmas Potluck and Awards Night
(Please bring your own place setting)

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Awards Evening

Youth awards are presented in October during our Society's regular meeting. The adult competition awards and prizes are presented in December during our Christmas pot luck.

Social Events

The Society's annual programme includes opportunities to share a meal with, and get to know, fellow members. For a small fee you can enjoy delicious chili supper in January which includes a speaker.  There is a summertime pot luck held at a member's home and a Christmas pot luck dinner.



Barbara Stanners

Our Society recognizes the importance of volunteering and nominate members to receive Ontario Volunteer Service Awards. In 2018 Shirley de Nie, Hannah Burgess, Olivia Gibbs and Gail Hoskin received their 5 yr. pin.  Marg. Benns and Ivan Moore received their 15 yr. pin.  Bev. Silk received her 20 yr. pin.

Other recognitions by the society include:

Service Certificates:
A Society can nominate one person per year for this certificate.
The criteria for this award are ten or more years of active membership in a Society, service on Society committees, contributing time or effort to community improvements, encouraging membership enrollment, inspiring horticultural efforts of individuals or groups and having shown sincere interest in and supporting the objectives of a Horticultural Society.  The following people have received this certificate:

1978 - Joan Chalovich 2004 - Gordon Ficko
1989 - Doug Johnson   2005 - Bev. Silk
1996 - Marianne Pitchler 2006 - Jennifer Darrell
2000 - Carol Cragg 2007 - Rosemary Dignam
2001 - Bertha Beatty 2008 - Alex Ferguson
2002 - Shirley Johnson 2013 - Suzanne Liptay
2003 - John Liptay 2014 - Anne Fenton

Life Membership:
A Horticultural Society honour. Criteria includes long time membership in a Society, preferrably a minimum of 15 years, and continued interest in horticulture.

1998 - Bertha Beatty 2002 - Joyce Bryant
1998 - Shirley Johnston 2003 - Carol Cragg
1998 - Doug Johnston  2003 - Gordon Ficko
2000 - Mary Harnden 2003 - Reni Parisius
2001 - Murial Braham 2007 - Rosemary Dignam
2001 - Bea Prentice 2016 - Anne Fenton
2002 - Ted Beatty 2019 - Bev. Silk

Silver Fir Award:
Presented at the Annual OHA Convention to one gentleman per year from all of Ontario.

2001 - Doug Johnston

Environmental Award:
Presented at the Annual OHA Convention to one or more people or groups per year from all of Ontario.

2001 - Bob Marshall             2002 - Murial Braham

Award of Merit:
Presented at the Annual OHA Convention to one or more people per year from all of Ontario.

2012 - Bev. Silk

Youth Award:
Presented at the Annual OHA Convention to one person per year from all of Ontario.

2012 - Bev. Silk

District 4 Service Certificate:
Presented to one person per year from District 4 of the Ontario Horticultural Association.

2003 - Bev. Silk

Hazel Wilson Award:
Presented to one person per year from District 4 of the Ontario Horticultural Association.

2016 - Bev. Silk

25 Year Service Pin
Presented at the District 4 AGM.

Carol Cragg Mary Harnden
Shirley Johnston Gordon Ficko
Doug Johnston Bea Prentice
Rosemary Dignam Bev. Silk



Websites of Interest (N.A. Native Plant Soc.) (Ontario Field Ornithologists)


Municipal Office, 10836 Cty. Rd. 2, PO Box 70 Grafton ON K0K 2G0 Tele: 905-349-2822 Fax: 905-349-3259

Powered by CivicWeb CMS - © Copyright 2013 iCompass Technologies Inc.